Search En menu ClientConnect
Top 5 search results See all results Advanced search
Top searches
Most visited pages

    The International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen (Der Internationale Karlspreis zu Aachen) is the oldest and best-known prize awarded for work done in the service of European unification. The prize is named for Charlemagne, the Frankish king revered by his contemporaries as the “Father of Europe.” Recent winners of the Charlemagne Prize include Klaus Iohannis (2020/21), António Guterres (2019), Emmanuel Macron (2018), Timothy Garton Ash (2017) and Pope Francis (2016).

    In recognition of their courageous and encouraging efforts to fight against brutal state despotism, torture, oppression and the violation of basic human rights by an authoritarian regime – and to campaign for democracy, freedom and the rule of law, the Board of Directors of the Society for the Conferring of the International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen in 2022 have elected to honour the Belarusian political activists Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya, Veronica Tsepkalo and – on behalf of Maria Kalesnikava Tatsiana Khomich, who is leading the Belarusian Coordination Council for Political Prisoners.

    Watch the recording of the Charlemagne Prize ceremony.


    More information  

    Watch the recording of the Forum on Europe

    Key events

    • 11:00 – Aachen Townhall: The European Charlemagne Youth prize is awarded to three projects that stand for “Living Unity in Europe”
    • All day – Charlemagne Prize Europe Forum
    • 10:15-12:30 – panel on energy security, with the participation of Eila Kreivi, Director and Head of the Capital Markets Department at the EIB. The panel discussion includes European Parliament Vice-President Nicola Beer, Siemens Gamesa CEO Jochen Eickholt, Marija Kolak, President of the Association of Volks- and Reiffeisenbanken, and Klaus Ernst, Chairman of the Bundestag committee on Climate action and Energy, moderated by Carsten Knop of Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung.
    • Afternoon – panel on European security